like mother, like daughter

 

//

What a ten weeks it has been: the disaster of Brexit (remaIN all the way), heart wrenching terror attacks, the coldest and wettest June in history and basically the entire British parliament quitting their day jobs leaving us in an array of utter confusion and market decline…. the upside for me of the last ten weeks was of course, as you know, my parents coming to visit – and my mum staying!

While I bid a teary farewell to my dad 8 weeks ago, the silver lining of my mascara stained cloud was that the hilarious, kind, wonderful person that is my mother, was staying – staying for 8 more weeks!

She may be the worst influence on my wallet, waistline and liver but golly gosh it awfully nice having her here (sounding real Bri’ish in’I?).
She was in the UK so long that it almost became normal. I could call her at reasonable times of the day, make last-minute dinner plans, hang out with each other’s besties, stay the night at each other’s bases and make fun girly day trips London wide. We visited old family haunts, we explored parts of London neither of us had been to – not to mention our incredible southern Spanish adventure. It was almost like she was on her OE while the rest of us sat watching for Facebook updates of what adventure she was on each day. She explored areas of England she never has before, caught up with her very best friends and spent time doing things that made her happy with people who love and miss her. I think sometimes I forget that she too, was once an expat. She knows the highs, the lows, the excitement and the loneliness that comes with moving to the other side of the world. We did the same thing, in reverse. So, she gets it. She gets the madness that a new country, a new city and a new life can bring. An even further strength to our already strong mother daughter bond.

It really was the best start to what they call summer; however saying goodbye at Waterloo was awful. I cried so much as I nervously watched her walk down the jam-packed platform to board her train alone, that one of the station staff actually came over and worryingly asked me if something was the matter or if something had happened that I needed to report.
“No, I’m fine” I replied through my tears and short, sharp breathes;
“I’ve just said goodbye to my mum who lives on the opposite side of the world”. She looked and me sympathetically yet weirdly and in true British style, awkwardly walked away from the situation.

Clearly she has no idea what it’s like. I’m the first to admit I’m the biggest woos this side of the equator – actually, both sides of the equator, but I think it all dawned on me at that very moment…

You never really realise how lonely London can be until friends or family come to visit – and then leave. Leave you back to being all alone, in this huge city as an expat orphan.

Thank you for visiting me in the country I have chosen to call home; your birthplace, which has allowed me to be here. It was amazing seeing parts of your old life, while showing you my new one. Thank you for the laughs, the wines, the memories, the travel and for just being over here with me. I will never forget it (apart form that night in the pub watching the Euro’s which neither of us can probably remember much of)

Don’t panic – I’m ok, the crying has stopped and so has the rain.*Insert shoc emoji face* Hallelujah, summer has arrived for a few days to lift me out of my post-parent-blues and just to take things to an extreme that only the Brit’s could, we’re officially in a level 3 heatwave. Bless their little mid-teens temperature accustomed socks; 32 degree’s and the mayhem is worse than Oxford Street on Christmas Eve. Seriously though.

Safe travels home mum, until next time xxx

13659115_10208096933996140_470943290458327479_n

Sarah x

/*

One thought on “like mother, like daughter

Leave a Reply

