veille de Voyage solo

//

On the eve of my first solo adventure, after (finally) deciding on my outfits for Paris and squeezing them in to my flatmates carry-on sized suitcase (complete with hello kitty luggage tag) – I stumbled across this gem of a blog post;

You Become The Master Of Your Destiny

Being able to do what you like when you like is something that is often underrated. When it comes to solo travel, you can choose whether you want to to sleep in, fill your day with activities or treat yourself to a day of getting lost in a beautiful city.

I guess there’s only one way to find out if solo-travel is for me – I will either find it liberating and addictive, a means to an end or something i’ll never do again. Regardless of how the next few days unfold, I don’t imagine the outcome of solo-travel being a bad thing –  it will be a test of character and nothing short of a challenge. Whether this will just be the beginning, or the first and last of many solo adventures, come Monday evening at least i’ll be able to tick it off the bucket/wanderlust list!

I may not speak the language, I may not be able to read a map (to save myself!) and I may know all too well that the French, particularly the Parisians, don’t have the best reputation for friendlessness – but i’m not about to let any of that get in my way. I’ve installed google translate and google maps on my salvation iPhone… I wonder if google has an app for a thick skin?

Paris je viens ici!

 

another gem - this time sent to me from one of the most amazing friends back home - reassurance, support and faith at it's best xxx
another gem – this time sent to me from one of the most amazing friends back home – reassurance, support and faith at it’s best xxx

To be continued…

Sarah x

/*

Leave a Reply

