life begins here

//

I’m lying in bed, in my new home, on my first night trying to comprehend all that has happened in the last 8 weeks;

* I have flown 23 hours to the other side of the world with my life in a 23kg suitcase and a 7kg carry on bag

* I have been reunited with my very best friend and some of the most amazing girls I could ask for as friends

* I have been made to feel more than at home in a lovely two bedroom flat in North London with my bestie and her flatmate – a girl who I had never met but now feel like I have known my whole life

* I have explored London, loving every stereotypical touristy minute of it

* I have been through the daunting interviewing process as a little kiwi girl in london and landed myself a role at an award winning, creative marketing agency, in an amazing team of people

* I have spent quality time with family friends down in the countryside; family really doesn’t have to be blood

* I have travelled to Eastern Europe and explored the amazing Hungarian city of Budapest

* I have celebrated my 28th birthday in typical Cinders fashion with my london crew – partying till sunrise with espresso martinis, coming home as the sun rose. The fun continued on the actual day – from the otherside of the world I received a beautiful bouquet of flowers and then a friend from home/Brisbane/London treated me to a night at the theatre to see one of my favourite musicals; Wicked

* I have world at London Fashion Week at Somerset House – enough said

* I have moved in to a new home. A gorgeous two bedroom flat in North London, Borough of Islington, with one of the most amazing girls I know. We’re less than a kilometre from my best friend and the new friend I adopted upon arrival

~

Never in a million years did I think that in eight short weeks I would have achieved all of this – im still trying to wrap my head around it. I couldn’t have done it with out the incredible support of my friends and English family, I will be forever grateful and in their debt. Having a circle of people who love you and are there for you every scary, new step of the way should never be discounted, it really is the only thing that will get you through this potentially daunting time. There is absolutely no way I could have done any of this without my wonderful support network and safety net – how do you thank people when words don’t say enough and gifts don’t amount to what they’ve done?

My move to London has been so smooth, it almost seems as though it has been too easy. If I have ever doubted that everything that is meant to be will fall in to place and just ‘be’ – then I take it back. Never have I agreed with a mantra more.

I have a job, a bank account, an amazing group of friends, an oyster and as of this weekend, a flat and a post code – London is now home

IMG_5631

Sarah x

/*

2 thoughts on “life begins here

Leave a Reply

